Yes — Strong Match
blue flag iris (zones 3-9) covers every zone South Carolina contains (7a-9b), so hardiness is not what limits it anywhere in the state.
Blue Flag Iris in South Carolina — the short answer
Blue Flag Iris in South Carolina: hardy in zones 3–9, against a state median of ~265 frost-free days.
- Plant zones
- 3-9
- Manual horticultural correction (source not retained); NC State Extension and Missouri Botanical Garden, with the remaining rows from other published sources or Growable Ground compilation
- South Carolina zones
- 7a-9b
- USDA PHZM 2023
- Frost window
- Feb 27 - Mar 12 – Nov 23 - Dec 1
- NOAA RCC ACIS 1991-2020, 28°F
- Shortest county season
- 237 days
- NOAA Regional Climate Centers ACIS, 1991-2020, county 28°F killing freeze
Plant data: Growable Ground Plant Database, compiled from FAO ECOCROP, USDA PLANTS and university Extension sources — per-field provenance varies and is published with the dataset.
Your yard isn't the whole zone.
South Carolina spans zones 7a-9b, but your yard sits in exactly one — and slope, tree cover, and cold-air pockets nudge it further. Enter your address and we'll score blue flag iris against your parcel's actual hardiness, soil, and sun.
We read public map data for this spot — soil, climate, flood, and parcel records. How we handle your address.
No card required · your full report in seconds
South Carolina is not one climate
South Carolina’s winter-low ladder runs across 46 counties, from zone 8 in Abbeville County to zone 9 in Jasper County. That is 10°F between the two counties’ average coldest night — the difference between blue flag iris overwintering in the ground and coming under cover.
The middle half of 46 counties runs 8–8.5 zones, with a median of 8.5 zones — a 1-zone span end to end.
Measured across 46 South Carolina counties. USDA PHZM 2023, per county. Quartiles are order statistics — every figure shown is a value a real county recorded, not an interpolation. Your own site sits somewhere inside this range; a parcel report resolves where.
Where in South Carolina Fits Best
Even within South Carolina's zones 7a-9b, county microclimates differ enough to change what thrives. These counties carry the closest zone match for blue flag iris (USDA PHZM 2023):
Zone Comparison
Blue Flag Iris Needs
- USDA Zones: 3-9
- Mature size: 2.5 ft tall
- Picking window: ~21 days of harvest
- Drought tolerance: Low
South Carolina Has
- USDA Zones: 7a-9b
- Last Hard Freeze (28°F): Feb 27 - Mar 12
- First Hard Freeze (28°F): Nov 23 - Dec 1
- Annual Rainfall: 45-55 inches
- Common Soils: Red clay (Piedmont), Sandy loam (Coastal), Alluvial
Plant Zone Range (zones 3-9)
Plant data: Growable Ground Plant Database, compiled from FAO ECOCROP, USDA PLANTS, and university Extension sources — per-field provenance varies and is published with the dataset. State data: USDA ARS PHZM 2023, NOAA Climate Normals, NRCS SSURGO.
When to Plant Blue Flag Iris in South Carolina
The frost window
Across South Carolina, the last spring hard freeze (28°F) clears between Feb 27 and Mar 12, and the first fall hard freeze lands between Nov 23 and Dec 1 (NOAA Regional Climate Centers ACIS, 1991-2020). Counting from the latest last freeze to the earliest first freeze, that's a 256-day window you can count on — up to 277 days on a mild site in a kind year. That marks the hard freeze, not the last light frost, so tender transplants usually wait another 2-3 weeks.
Winter standing
South Carolina runs as cold as USDA zone 7, and no sourced winter-hardiness floor is on record for blue flag iris, so this page does not state whether it overwinters here — and gives no fall establishment date on the strength of a guess. Whether blue flag iris is a permanent planting or a replant-every-spring crop for you turns on your own zone within South Carolina; check its hardiness range against that before treating it as long-lived ground.
Frost window: NOAA Climate Normals 1991-2020. Plant timing fields: Growable Ground Plant Database — frost-free days from FAO ECOCROP, days to harvest from university Extension production guides, and growing-degree-day and chill-hour minimums that are compilation estimates rather than published figures. Your site's own frost dates can run earlier or later than the state range — a parcel report pins them down.
What Else to Consider for Blue Flag Iris in South Carolina
Zone compatibility tells you about winter cold survival — but South Carolina growers also need to think about:
Red Piedmont clay requires amendment for drainage
High heat and humidity promote diseases
Hurricane risk along the coast
What to actually do about these — and the constraints that apply to every South Carolina grower, not just blue flag iris — is covered on the South Carolina growing guide.
Where in South Carolina Blue Flag Iris Is Zone-Hardy
Blue Flag Iris is rated for USDA zones 3–9. Every one of South Carolina’s 46 counties sits inside that band — from Abbeville County at zone 8a to Jasper County at zone 9a — so winter cold is not what decides this plant anywhere in the state. What is left to vary is your own parcel: slope, shelter and cold-air drainage routinely move a site half a zone either way from the county figure.
Across those 46 counties South Carolina’s winter-low ladder runs from zone 8a in Abbeville County to zone 9a in Jasper County — 1 USDA zone of spread, which is 10°F between the two counties’ average coldest night of the year. That is why a statewide hardiness answer is where you start and not where you finish.
The planting window moves with it. Chester County holds its last hard freeze (28°F) until about Mar 22, while Charleston County is clear by Feb 1 — 49 days apart. Set blue flag iris out on your county’s date, not the state’s.
County hardiness zones: USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map (PHZM) 2023, per county. County last-freeze dates: NOAA Regional Climate Centers ACIS (1991-2020), county 28°F killing freeze — earlier than the folk 32°F "last frost". Blue Flag Iris’s zone 3–9 band: USDA PLANTS / Growable Ground plant database. A parcel report resolves your address’s own zone and frost dates rather than its county’s.
Pollinator + Wildlife Value
Blue Flag Iris draws native bees and butterflies (moderate value, Growable Ground Plant Database). Planting it near vegetable beds can lift fruit set on neighboring crops. Outdoors, blue flag iris can only work that bloom inside South Carolina's frost window — roughly 265 days, opening after the last 28°F freeze (Feb 27 - Mar 12) and closing at the first (Nov 23 - Dec 1), per NOAA Regional Climate Centers ACIS, 1991-2020.
South Carolina Cooperative Extension
For South Carolina-specific cultivar recommendations, planting calendars, and pest pressure for blue flag iris, the canonical source is Clemson Cooperative Extension. Their fact sheets carry the local trial data we can't generalize across 50 states.
Is Blue Flag Iris native to South Carolina?
Blue Flag Iris is native to parts of the Lower 48, but the USDA PLANTS Database (accessed 2026-07-01) does not document a native range in South Carolina. It can still earn a place in a South Carolina garden — the zone comparison above tells you whether it will thrive.
Looking for plants that belong here? The South Carolina growing guide lists USDA-documented natives for the state.
Native-range data: USDA PLANTS Database state-distribution records, accessed 2026-07-01.
Common Questions About Growing Blue Flag Iris in South Carolina
When can I plant Blue Flag Iris in South Carolina?
South Carolina's last spring hard freeze (28°F) clears between Feb 27 and Mar 12, and the first fall hard freeze lands between Nov 23 and Dec 1 (NOAA Regional Climate Centers ACIS, 1991-2020). No sourced winter-hardiness floor is on record for Blue Flag Iris, so this page does not state whether it overwinters in South Carolina and publishes no fall establishment date for it — check its hardiness range against your own zone before treating it as a permanent planting.
What hardiness zone is Blue Flag Iris grown in across South Carolina?
South Carolina spans USDA hardiness zones 7a-9b (USDA ARS PHZM 2023). Blue Flag Iris carries a range of zones 3-9, so the overlap zones are where outdoor growing is most reliable.
How many frost-free days does a typical South Carolina site have?
A typical South Carolina site sees ~265 frost-free days per year (derived from NOAA Regional Climate Centers ACIS, 1991-2020). Blue Flag Iris should be matched against that window, so check whether your local microclimate runs above or below the state average before settling on a planting date.
Is Blue Flag Iris native to South Carolina?
Blue Flag Iris is native to parts of the Lower 48, but the USDA PLANTS Database (accessed 2026-07-01) does not document a native range in South Carolina. It can still earn a place in a South Carolina garden — the zone comparison above tells you whether it will thrive.
Will Blue Flag Iris actually grow on my specific land in South Carolina?
State-level zone + climate data is a sketch. A Growable Ground parcel report scores blue flag iris against your address's exact soil pH, drainage, sun, and frost-date data drawn from USDA SSURGO, NOAA, and PRISM — not state averages.
Check your specific parcel in South Carolina
State-level data is a sketch. Your Growable Ground report scores blue flag iris against your parcel's exact soil, sun, drainage, and frost data — not zone averages.
Three things about your lot that South Carolina blue flag iris averages can't show:
We read public map data around South Carolina — soil, climate, flood, and parcel records. How we handle your address.
25+ data sources read at your address, not the South Carolina blue flag iris average
Explore More
Growing guides for blue flag iris
Explore South Carolina county by county
South Carolina carries 46 counties with their own USDA zone — a sample of the growing pages for blue flag iris there:
Where else blue flag iris grows
Blue Flag Iris's zone band crosses state lines — these are the states closest to South Carolina in winter climate where it also has a page, plus the far ends of its range. Each one re-answers the question with that state's own record.
More to grow in South Carolina
South Carolina has a growing page for 1,034 plants — a rotating sample of the rest of the shelf.
Last updated:

